Be Silent No More: Mumia Abu-Jamal, Leonard Peltier and/or Whatever Moves YOU!

Mumia's Letter

For those of you who think calling, e-mailing, tweeting, or writing letters to Politicians regarding your concerns about Injustices (political, social, environmental, etc) doesn’t matter or is nothing but bs…..I’ve sent e-mails (along with many tweets) to Governor Tom Wolf of Pennsylvania regarding the current medical neglect of State Prisoner Mumia Abu Jamal. On March 30, 2015 Mumia was transferred to a non-prison hospital near death. After a very short stay he was transferred to his prison infirmary, then back to general population. On May 12, 2015 Mumia was again hospitalized to another non-prison hospital, where he remained for a longer stay which included diagnostic testing and treatment. After hospitalization he was returned to his prison infirmary where as of this date he still resides. On June 19, 2015 I received a letter in the mail which I believe was in response to one particular e-mail > http://www.twitlonger.com/show/n_1sltr5f  The e-mail was sent on April 24, 2015 in response to a call-to-action regarding Mumia’s grave health status. Although the letter from Governor Wolf’s office doesn’t mention Mumia, it at least tells me that someONE was paying attention AND it was in the scheme of things a rather timely letter. Currently Mumia is doing a bit better, but he is still extremely ill and despite the graveness of his condition no medical diagnosis has been forthcoming so his medical treatment is seriously lacking. To state that Mumia is suffering horribly from not only his yet-to-be-diagnosed condition but also from Medical Negligence and more by the State of Pennsylvania is no under-statment! Mumia has experienced near-death more than once during his prolonged health crisis; if it were not for his SUPPORTERS willing to take ACTION on his behalf, we may not have him with us today! He STILL needs ACTION done on his behalf for his current medical/health needs AND he desperately needs to be released from prison. Here you’ll find current info on Mumia‘s condition > http://wp.me/pTjOC-6UY

As many of you know I’ve been advocating for Federal Prisoner Leonard Peltier for many long years. Leonard and actually EVERY prisoner be they in Local, State or Federal prisons also suffers from medical neglect. It is a grievously hard road to bear not only for inmates but also for their Loved ones. Leonard has many supporters some of whom religiously answer calls-to-actions when he is in need and who routinely contact President Obama asking that he be granted Executive Clemency. Had it not been for Leonard’s SUPPORTERS rising to the call when necessary during those times of a health crisis or another pressing need no doubt Leonard would not be with us today. Those of you who know me personally, know and have seen that I have received confirming letters/e-mails from various Politicos and individuals within the Federal Prison System thru the years:

••• In a letter written in 2009 responding to Leonard’s denial of parole, I received a letter in February 2010 from the United States Parole Commission; they acknowledged my letter to them and mentioned Leonard’s name.  

•••In 2012 I received a letter from the White House/President Obama acknowledging my correspondence with them. There was no mention of Leonard, but since all my letters to them mention Leonard in some capacity I take this to be a positive confirmation of a letter or letters received by them. (I’ve written countless letters and e-mails so I have no idea which one they responded to). 

••• From a [group] letter written to former Attorney General Eric Holder in November 2012 asking that he support Clemency for Leonard, I received a letter of confirmation from the U.S. Dept of Justice/Office of the Pardon Attorney in February 2013; they acknowledged my letter to them and mentioned Leonard’s name.

••• From a [group] letter written to Vice President Biden in January 2013 asking that he support Clemency for Leonard, I received a letter of confirmation from the U.S. Dept of Justice/Federal Bureau of Prisons in May 2013; they acknowledged my letter to VP Biden and mentioned Leonard’s name.

••• I’ve sent e-mails regarding Leonard to many individuals and have received e-mail responses which specifically mention Leonard from Oregon Senator Jeff Merkley and branches of the Federal Bureau of Prisons. I’ve also received generic Thank You e-mails with no mention of Leonard from others I have contacted on Leonard‘s behalf. Unfortunately some of these e-mails with responses were lost in a computer meltdown.

While it’s obvious that my many demands to address Leonard’s needs including Executive Clemency have not yet been met…my voice has been heard and I continue on. Let me say that had I NEVER received written confirmations for my communications it would NOT matter, I’d STILL be continuing on! For info on helping Leonard please go to > http://www.whoisleonardpeltier.info/

There are times (too many) when it is extraordinarily difficult to raise and voice concerns respectfully; indeed it takes practice. From many many years of experience in both my professional and personal life working as a RN or doing advocacy for Human Rights I can say that reaching out to others with respect makes for a much more positive powerful statement. I urge each of you NOT to be silent about the injustices you see around you. Let your voice be heard! Contact those who are in the position to make Positive Changes. Of course there is no guarantee that Politicos or others we contact will forge ahead and make the changes that we demand within a specific time frame ..….BUT most assuredly….doing NOTHING ensures that NOTHING will happen!!

From my I Thank each of YOU for your committed passion to Justice!

Bonnie F. Walker, RN, BS, LNC

“When a cause comes along and you know in your bones that it is just, yet refuse to defend it—at that moment you begin to die. And I have never seen so many corpses walking around talking about justice.”
~Mumia Abu-Jamal

“Silence, they say, is the voice of complicity.
But silence is impossible.
Silence screams.
Silence is a message,
just as doing nothing is an act.
Let who you are ring out & resonate
in every word & every deed.
Yes, become who you are.
There’s no sidestepping your own being
or your own responsibility.
What you do is who you are.
You are your own comeuppance.
You become your own message.
You are the message.”
~Leonard Peltier

“Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.”
~Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr

Leave a Reply

