2014 — Happy Birthday to ME; Time to set Leonard Peltier FREE!!

Image

April 14, 2014 – May 31, 2014

Dear President Obama,

It’s that time of year for me and like the past 5, I am again asking that you graciously grant me a Birthday Wish. I find it harder this year to ask you as it has been a difficult one for me and as I look at circumstances within our Country and the world at large; it seems it has been a difficult year for so many others as well. In May I’ll turn 65 and that in itself is mind-blowing. For purposes of my Birthday Wish and other things I tend to celebrate my Birthday throughout the month of May. I have signed up for Medicare and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it is not gutted by an over-zealous plan to “balance the budget” which we both know could be balanced if certain “priorities” where re-examined and re-arranged. I’m still in favor of a Peace Economy rather than a War Economy. 60 years of dreaming for, wishing for and praying about Peace…one thing that has been a constant in my life. Since I have communicated with you so often and for so long, I would not doubt that you know my request and that you know you are singularly the ONLY one who can do as I bid. Once again I am asking that you grant Executive Clemency to federal prisoner Leonard Peltier (#89637-132). This task is yours alone as designated by the Constitution; you may seek recommendations from the Office of the Pardon Attorney and others, but you alone hold the “Key To Freedom”.

During this past year (May 2013 – May 2014) Leonard has sadly lost 3 famous strong supporters who had actively worked at one time or another (and for years on end) to engage his Freedom during his almost 4 decades of wrongful incarceration. Nelson Mandela, Pete Seeger, and Peter Matthiessen have moved on to the Spirit World (may they rest in peace and grace). Amnesty International, The United Nations, The National Congress of American Indians, the Belgium Parliament and other governmental and organizational entities have again raised their voices to support clemency for Leonard. Most recently Robert Redford has renewed his support for Leonard’s clemency and has hopes that you will do what your predecessors have ignored or refused to do. With all the talk of reforming the penal system and taking a serious look at the grievous backlog of unjust incarcerations on both State and Federal levels, truly each man and woman who has been wrongfully incarcerated or detained and/or given prolonged sentences based in part on their racial-ethnic heritage deserve to have their Freedom granted. I would hope that you see this as a very positive step in walking the talk for Human Rights in America.

My coming Birthday this year is overshadowed with some grief. Two of my long-time dear friends who celebrated their May Birthdays with me entered the Spirit World in 2013; Mari who spent her life working with the frailly ill died a tragic death; Johnny who was a disabled US Army Veteran wanted so badly to see Leonard Peltier walk out of prison a Free man. (I sent a letter to you in November 2013 asking that you honor one of Johnny’s last wishes to Free Leonard…I enclose it again here). I’ll miss sharing the funny Birthday cards and laughs with my 2 dear friends (may they rest in peace and grace).

As you know thru my years of letter-writing, e-mails, phone calls and tweets to you, Leonard Peltier is not only an individual who has been wrongfully and cruelly imprisoned by our own government, he stands as an icon and symbol to others who have also had their constitutional, civil, human, (and treaty) rights abused, violated and ignored by our Federal and/or State governments and who continue to fight the fight to do what’s right. Ahhhh, 65…not so dreadful being this age, but I have to admit pushing year after year for what is morally and judiciously the right thing to do to a government that tries to stay blind and deaf to the obvious does indeed get tiring. But I gotta say, no way am I done. I may be slower, and may need to take breaks but I made a promise when I was a young child to try my best to work for Peace, Justice, Equality, Freedom and I will continue on for as long as I can. The quest for these Tangible Intangibles must continue despite bad health, grief, sorrows, deaths, economic uncertainties, and hateful individuals who maliciously attempt to tread on the first amendment rights of free speech of others who work without malice.

None of us know how long we will live upon our home – Mother{Earth}, but I sincerely believe that if we are presented with an opportunity to do right and we have it within our means to do so…we do what we can. I sincerely hope that you will do what is right and grant Executive Clemency to Leonard Peltier sooner than later. Leonard will be 70 years old in September and with his both acute and chronic illnesses poorly treated through the federal prison system…any day could be his last.

In closing… “For almost 4 decades, Leonard Peltier has been *tortured by The United States Government and its agencies. *referenced by the United States Constitution, the United Nations Declaration of Human Rights, the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, the United Nations Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment and the Geneva Convention”.

Thank you as always for your time and consideration.

In Peace.

Bonnie F. Walker, RN, BS, LNC

Leave a Reply

